//
you're reading...
VCU Archaeology

A Virtual Window to the Past: On-line Resources from the Virtual Curation Laboratory

by Bernard K. Means

The Covid-19 (coronavirus) is having a widespread impact on human activities across the globe as we are all to aware. Just yesterday (March 10, 2020), the board of the Middle Atlantic Archaeological Conference–I’m a member as President-elect–voted to postpone the conference, which was scheduled to start a week from today. We are not the first and certainly won’t be the last conference to make such a decision. I also received notice yesterday from the Virginia Commonwealth University (VCU) Provost that I, as a VCU professor, need to start working toward a way to teach my archaeology and museum classes online, should VCU follow other institutions of higher learning in closing their campuses to in-person instruction. Fortunately, thanks to Sketchfab and multiple partners in archaeology, history, and paleontology across the public and  private spectrum, we’ve amassed a large collection of 3-D models that are available for access online and many can be downloaded to be used in rigorous analyses or 3-D printed for educational or outreach purposes at our Sketchfab site: https://sketchfab.com/virtualcurationlab.

sketchfab capture 1

Some of these models are organized into collections, and a few models appear in more than one collection. This is  because some models are placed in a institution-specific collection while also existing in more general subject-based collections.

sketchfab capture 2

Currently the collections are in the order that I created them and not in alphabetical order, so I have made a list that is alphabetized with links. Some of the collections right now have a few or even one member, but I’ll be working next week to add to all of the collections.

Collection Link
African American History and Culture https://sketchfab.com/virtualcurationlab/collections/african-american-history-and-culture
American Civil War https://sketchfab.com/virtualcurationlab/collections/american-civil-war
American History https://sketchfab.com/virtualcurationlab/collections/american-history
Ancient Egypt at the Boonshoft Museum https://sketchfab.com/virtualcurationlab/collections/ancient-egypt-exhibit-at-boonshoft-museum
Appomattox Court House https://sketchfab.com/virtualcurationlab/collections/appomattox-court-house
Architecture https://sketchfab.com/virtualcurationlab/collections/architecture
Art https://sketchfab.com/virtualcurationlab/collections/art
Aztec https://sketchfab.com/virtualcurationlab/collections/aztec
Betsy Shipwreck https://sketchfab.com/virtualcurationlab/collections/betsy-shipwreck
Braille models https://sketchfab.com/virtualcurationlab/collections/braille-models
British Museum https://sketchfab.com/virtualcurationlab/collections/british-museum
Cayman Brac https://sketchfab.com/virtualcurationlab/collections/cayman-brac
Ceramics https://sketchfab.com/virtualcurationlab/collections/ceramics
Chipped Stone Tools https://sketchfab.com/virtualcurationlab/collections/chipped-stone-tools
Chippokes Plantation https://sketchfab.com/virtualcurationlab/collections/chippokes-plantation
Clothing and fashion https://sketchfab.com/virtualcurationlab/collections/clothing-and-fashion
Colonoware https://sketchfab.com/virtualcurationlab/collections/colonoware
Dayton Society of Natural History https://sketchfab.com/virtualcurationlab/collections/dayton-society-of-natural-history
Dining https://sketchfab.com/virtualcurationlab/collections/dining
Dinosaurs https://sketchfab.com/virtualcurationlab/collections/dinosaurs
Dragon Research Collaborative https://sketchfab.com/virtualcurationlab/collections/dragon-research-collective
Egypt https://sketchfab.com/virtualcurationlab/collections/egypt
Evolution https://sketchfab.com/virtualcurationlab/collections/evolution
Exploring Virginia Exhibit https://sketchfab.com/virtualcurationlab/collections/exploring-virginia-exhibit
Eyreville 44NH0507 https://sketchfab.com/virtualcurationlab/collections/eyreville-44nh0507
Fairfax County Park Authority https://sketchfab.com/virtualcurationlab/collections/fairfax-county-park-authority
Fairfield Foundation https://sketchfab.com/virtualcurationlab/collections/fairfield-foundation
Fossils https://sketchfab.com/virtualcurationlab/collections/fossils
Frederick Douglass National Historic Site https://sketchfab.com/virtualcurationlab/collections/frederick-douglass-national-historic-site
Fruits and Vegetables https://sketchfab.com/virtualcurationlab/collections/fruits-and-vegetables
George Washington’s Ferry Farm https://sketchfab.com/virtualcurationlab/collections/george-washingtons-ferry-farm
George Washington’s Mount Vernon https://sketchfab.com/virtualcurationlab/collections/george-washingtons-mount-vernon
Germanna Archaeology https://sketchfab.com/virtualcurationlab/collections/germanna-archaeology
Groundstone https://sketchfab.com/virtualcurationlab/collections/groundstone
Gunston Hall https://sketchfab.com/virtualcurationlab/collections/gunston-hall
Historic St. Mary’s City https://sketchfab.com/virtualcurationlab/collections/historic-st-marys-city
Historical Archaeology https://sketchfab.com/virtualcurationlab/collections/historical-archaeology
HNB Garhwal University https://sketchfab.com/virtualcurationlab/collections/hnb-garhwal-university
Hollywood Cemetery https://sketchfab.com/virtualcurationlab/collections/hollywood-cemetery
Ice Age Animals https://sketchfab.com/virtualcurationlab/collections/ice-age-animals
Independence National Historical Park https://sketchfab.com/virtualcurationlab/collections/independence-national-historical-park
Isle of Wight County Museum https://sketchfab.com/virtualcurationlab/collections/isle-of-wight-county-museum
James Madison’s Montpelier https://sketchfab.com/virtualcurationlab/collections/james-madisons-montpelier
Las Vegas Natural History Museum https://sketchfab.com/virtualcurationlab/collections/las-vegas-natural-history-museum
London England https://sketchfab.com/virtualcurationlab/collections/london-england
London Museums https://sketchfab.com/virtualcurationlab/collections/london-museums
Manassas National Battlefield Park https://sketchfab.com/virtualcurationlab/collections/manassas-national-battlefield-park
Mariners’ Museum https://sketchfab.com/virtualcurationlab/collections/mariners-museum
Moche https://sketchfab.com/virtualcurationlab/collections/moche
Monongahela https://sketchfab.com/virtualcurationlab/collections/monongahela-tradition
Museum of the Albemarle https://sketchfab.com/virtualcurationlab/collections/museum-of-the-albemarle
Museum of the Middle Appalachians https://sketchfab.com/virtualcurationlab/collections/museum-of-the-middle-appalachians
National D-Day Memorial https://sketchfab.com/virtualcurationlab/collections/national-d-day-memorial
National Museum of Health and Medicine https://sketchfab.com/virtualcurationlab/collections/national-museum-of-health-and-medicine
Natural History Museum London https://sketchfab.com/virtualcurationlab/collections/natural-history-museum-london
New York State Museum https://sketchfab.com/virtualcurationlab/collections/new-york-state-museum
Oak Hill Plantation https://sketchfab.com/virtualcurationlab/collections/oak-hill-plantation
Osteology https://sketchfab.com/virtualcurationlab/collections/osteology
Peale Mastodons https://sketchfab.com/virtualcurationlab/collections/peale-mastodons
Petersburg National Battlefield Park https://sketchfab.com/virtualcurationlab/collections/petersburg-national-battlefield-park
Plants and Archaeobotany https://sketchfab.com/virtualcurationlab/collections/plants-and-archaeobotany
Poe Museum https://sketchfab.com/virtualcurationlab/collections/poe-museum
Research Laboratories of Archaeology https://sketchfab.com/virtualcurationlab/collections/research-laboratories-of-archaeology
Shipwrecks https://sketchfab.com/virtualcurationlab/collections/shipwrecks
Smithsonian Institution Paleobiology https://sketchfab.com/virtualcurationlab/collections/smithsonian-institution-paleobiology
Smoking Pipes https://sketchfab.com/virtualcurationlab/collections/smoking-pipes
Susquehannock https://sketchfab.com/virtualcurationlab/collections/susquehannock
The State Museum of Pennsylvania https://sketchfab.com/virtualcurationlab/collections/the-state-museum-of-pennsylvania
Thomas Jefferson’s Poplar Forest https://sketchfab.com/virtualcurationlab/collections/thomas-jeffersons-poplar-forest
Totally Public Models https://sketchfab.com/virtualcurationlab/collections/totally-public-models
Uttarakhand Temples https://sketchfab.com/virtualcurationlab/collections/uttarakhand-temples
Valley of the Mastodons https://sketchfab.com/virtualcurationlab/collections/valley-of-the-mastodons
Victoria & Albert Museum https://sketchfab.com/virtualcurationlab/collections/victoria-albert-museum
Virgina Museum of Natural History https://sketchfab.com/virtualcurationlab/collections/virginia-museum-of-natural-history
Virginia Living Museum https://sketchfab.com/virtualcurationlab/collections/virginia-living-museum
Western Science Center https://sketchfab.com/virtualcurationlab/collections/western-science-center
Wine Bottle Seals https://sketchfab.com/virtualcurationlab/collections/wine-bottle-seals
World War I and World War II https://sketchfab.com/virtualcurationlab/collections/world-war-i-and-world-war-ii
Yorktown Mastodon https://sketchfab.com/virtualcurationlab/collections/yorktown-mastodon
Zooarchaeology https://sketchfab.com/virtualcurationlab/collections/zooarchaeology

 

Discussion

One thought on “A Virtual Window to the Past: On-line Resources from the Virtual Curation Laboratory

  1. Reblogged this on Sara M. Head.

    Posted by ArchyFantasies | March 28, 2020, 1:57 pm

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 187 other followers

%d bloggers like this: