//
you're reading...
VCU Archaeology

Who We Are: Spring 2014 Intern Edition

by Bernard K. Means, Director

I’ve asked my the interns new to the Virtual Curation Laboratory this Spring 2014 to briefly reflect on why they are interning.  Their responses are listed alphabetically below.

Carson Collier

Carson Collier

Carson Collier

I am a “half” senior graduating in December 2014. I am interning because I am interested in collections management and working with exhibits. One of my goals for this internship is to learn how to use different kinds of 3D software. Another goal is to learn and practice integrating 3D technology with Public Archaeology.

Meg Healy

Meg Healy

Meg Healy

During my time at the Virtual Creation Lab I hope to gain greater knowledge about the growing field of 3D scanning and printing. I also wish to learn more about how knowing more about the past can help us learn more about our future with the use of such great technology.

Vivian Hite

Vivian Hite

Vivian Hite

My name is Vivian. I’m a senior at VCU and am majoring in Anthropology. This is my first semester interning in the Virtual Curation Laboratory and I have high hopes on what I will learn. I wanted to be an intern to learn more about 3D scanning, printing, and cataloging; but also to learn about the various artifacts that we have access to–both digitally and the physical originals. I hope to better understand the comparisons and conclusions that can be made with 3D artifacts as well as learning overall the significance of details in small finds and how they can be applied in a virtual world.

Zac Hudson

Zac Hudson

Zac Hudson

Hello, My name is Zachary and I am a last semester Senior at VCU. I am doing this internship for two very specific reasons. I plan to use the methodologies learned here in the lab to gain career points so that I may work in the field or at University of Tennessee Knoxville’s Archeology research lab. The second reason I am interning here in the virtual lab is because of the graduation requirement for experimental learning or internships.

Sarah Perdue

Sarah Perdue

Sarah Perdue

I am an anthropology student who wants to take classes that provide a more hands-on approach.  This internship not only deals with an interesting topic but isn’t just a simple lecture class.  I hope that it helps with figuring out what I want to do and with any future anthropological job because of how popular virtual archaeology is.

Ashley Perry

Ashley Perry

Ashley Perry

I am interning with the Virtual Curation Laboratory to broaden my view of the work of an archaeologist beyond fieldwork. My goal for interning is to acquire knowledge about 3D scanning/printing of artifacts and I am also hoping to develop my skills at the more clerical aspects of archaeology such as researching and writing.

Bridget Polk

Bridget Polk

Bridget Polk

I am interning in the Virtual Curation Lab because archaeology is a passion of mine that I have had since I was a child. By working with the lab, I get to experience new and amazing artifacts from site all around. The practice of making virtual copies of artifacts will be useful when trying to preserve artifacts for later dates when the item itself might not be available for display or research.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

