//
you're reading...
VCU Archaeology

An Aztec clay head we refer to as “Coffee Bean Eyes”

From the director–another blog written early in a VCU student’s internship.

by Leslie Straub

Leslie Straub editing in the Virtual Curation Laboratory.

Leslie Straub editing in the Virtual Curation Laboratory.

Hi, my name is Leslie Straub, and I am studying Anthropology and graduating this December. I’m interested in Archaeology and Osteology, but I would really like to get more involved with Primatology in the near future. By interning in the Virtual Curation Laboratory, I hope to gain more knowledge and confidence beyond what a textbook can teach me. I would like to become more familiar with artifacts, their proper handling, and theirclassification. I would also like to become an expert at documentation and expand my laboratory vocabulary.

Aztec figurine head.

Aztec figurine head.

Currently, I am working on editing various scans of artifacts and, more specifically, an Aztec clay head we refer to as “Coffee Bean Eyes” and a clay impression made at Jamestown in the early 1600s on an American Indian basket.

Clay basket impression.

Clay basket impression.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

