//
you're reading...
VCU Archaeology

Sharing What We’ve Learned: Scanning and Editing Protocols from the Virtual Curation Laboratory

A sample slide from the editing protocols that we are working on.

By Ashley McCuistion, Virtual Curation Laboratory Multimedia Coordinator

For the past couple of weeks I have been working on writing protocols for how to use the NextEngine Desktop 3D Scanner and NextEngine ScanStudio HD editing software.  One key objective of this project is to share what we have learned about 3D scanning technology with others so that they may benefit from its use.  These protocols are simple step-by-step guides that will help people who are new to the technology quickly learn how to scan artifacts and successfully edit and share the files that are created.

I began by taking the editing guidelines that Courtney Bowles wrote and following them to edit various files, adding to them as I worked.  I also had some students with little to no background in this type of work come to the lab and edit some of our files using only the guidelines to direct them.  This proved a great success, so I decided to create a PowerPoint that clearly illustrated each step with words and pictures.  I used a projectile point from Ferry Farm to edit and take screen captures for the PowerPoint, illustrating how to trim, align, and fuse the model.

A screen capture that I took as I prepared to scan the quartz projectile point.

Once the editing protocols were complete, I began working on some guidelines for scanning.  I scanned a small quartz projectile point that we have on loan from Quantico, writing down each step as I proceeded.  I also took screen captures to use in a PowerPoint, which I will be completing in the next couple of weeks.  I have tested the scanning guidelines on one student who was new to the process, and she had no problems whatsoever.  Courtney and I will also be working on a troubleshooting guide next week.

These protocols will be a part of a report that Dr. Means is writing for the Department of Defense Legacy Project, and will also be made available to the general public.  I am very happy that I have been able to make this contribution, and I am eager to share the final product with everyone!

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Sharing What We’ve Learned: Scanning and Editing Protocols from the Virtual Curation Laboratory

  1. What a great product. This is a thoughtful contribution to others using, or considering the use of, this technology.

    Posted by Laura Galke | November 12, 2012, 12:23 pm

Leave a Reply

